Mishmash

Hello friends,

I hope the world is turning in your favour and you have a reason to smile today. This post is going to be a little all over the place, but I need to write it to organise my scattered thoughts.

I have been a bit down and out for about a month now and very inactive in cyberspace. This is due to transitions, changes, a lack of motivation and an infection. Generally in myself I have felt fine, but I have been less than productive and this previous week I was bed ridden and the most I could muster on a good day was watching a huge amount of clips on YouTube. I feel like I must have seen every video on YouTube by now! (I know that is not really humanly possible). There will be a post I would like to touch on regarding my time watching some of these videos, but I will do that as a separate post because it is a bit of a big one and needs its own space.

I also have had an idea for a poem floating around in the old noggin for over a month now and I am waiting for inspiration to strike its loving rays so I can finally put words to the idea. This is my general writing style. It is how When the Magpie Stole the Moon came about. I thought about that idea for about 3 months before it became a poem and then the words just came to me and suddenly over night it was a thing.

I have never and most likely will never consider myself to be a blogging expert. I pretty much just go where the wind takes me and have been lucky enough to accumulate some fantastic followers on the way.
I have been thinking lately of consistency and this is where you kind souls come in. Are you at all bothered when I post or how much? I know for me personally if I see too much of one blogger it is a little off putting because it feels like to much to read at once and I will end up missing posts. I like seeing numerous posts per day that are spread out. This of course is just my personal preference, but I think if I started blogging too constantly my posts would begin to lack and maybe even bug you guys who read it. I am however thinking a little consistency will not hurt and I want to attempt at least 2-3 posts per week. I have not yet shared any short stories with you (Fear of rejection), so I was thinking once a week of releasing a chapter or whole story (depending on length) on one dedicated day per week and then the other one or two days stick to writing whatever comes to mind like I do now. I know so far I have been writing on a personal level to help myself first and foremost, so I want to give back to all of you who have been so loyal as to stick with me on this journey. I would like to know what you would like to see more of from me.
I know this might be a variety of opinions or who knows, maybe you do not care at all and I am just over thinking it but if you do have an opinion, I would like to hear it.

My next thought which has been lingering for the last week now is self promotion. As much as it is a bugbear, it will be necessary for me to have to do it every now and then if I am ever going to get to where I want to be in regards to having anything published in the future. For this reason I have reactivated my Twitter account solely for the purpose of announcing when I have posted a new blog or news of any other project etc. So if you are interested in hearing about any upcoming projects I am soon to be working on, you can follow me there. I will of course first and foremost be sharing that here first, but hopefully I can put myself out there a little and you never know, it is worth a try.

I will be making a big move at the end of the month and I see this as a challenge for my consistency. regardless of my personal situations I will always try and be true to my word. I know there are a few commitments I have yet to follow through with and that is due to a series of unfortunate circumstances, but that does not mean I have forgotten about them or that they will not happen.

With all of that being said, please let me know what you think (if you can decipher what on earth I am trying to convey!) All I know is writing is the only passion I have ever really had and this is the time I want to see how far I can go with it.

As Autumn is almost here, I will be looking to spruce up my page to match my favourite season. Also as a transition for the changes that are going on in my life. This I usually do with my hair, but I vowed to leave it alone this year to let it grow and not damage it.

Thank you for sitting through another of my ramblings, you truly are great.

Until next time, you are loved.

-Sara

93 thoughts on “Mishmash

Add yours

  1. You post when you feel the time is right.

    I post ‘too much’ but have ideas on WordPress partly as a back up if my storage dies (as happened last year) and I just like getting things out there for ‘me’. Nobody ‘has’ to follow me, Andrew I do try and visit other sites as often as I can, commenting when I feel there is something to say. Be it just ‘hello!’

    I follow a lot of people but the emails telling me of their posts are diverted from my main inbox to a holding folder where I go and look at them when time allows. This saves constant updates being a continual distraction to me.

    I have tried ‘not’ posting; but, my mind is a creative source that wants to give ideas light and life.

    It may change. All this time on WordPress has not been wasted; but, possibly not utilised to the best.

    So, each to their own.

    Stay safe and I hope you are feeling better soon –

    Take care, Graeme:)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If you have constant ideas streaming through you like that then kudos and if you feel like your posts are worthwhile then I think that no justification is needed. When I say “too much” what I mean is when there are so many posts from one writer at one time, it seems then there is so much to read that it would be impossible to do so. I hope that makes sense. I just think personally if I posted at a constant paste people would think “ugh not her again” I may be wrong, but this is why I try to gain the perspectives of others. Sorry, I am rambling again!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi there Sara, I hope you’re feeling well after your down spell. If you feel the need to write something and blog it, then do that. This is a place where you could never make everyone happy and you don’t need to . This is you place of self expression and you should use it as such. Post when you want and what you want. Your amazing followers will read or not (but I suspect they will read myself) so you shouldn’t doubt yourself.

    Keep smiling 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Your posts are always interesting! I think 2-3 posts is a good idea, and I’d like to see some of your fiction! At one point I did a lot more posting than I do now. And you know what? I did get burnt out for sure, and the quality was slipping. As soon as I cut back, everything became better, and I was more at peace. I love being able to think about the post for awhile before I send it.
    I don’t think you have anything to worry about as far as posting too much though. I have seen 10-12 different posts in a single day from one person! And that flooding of our reader can be difficult. There is only one person I follow that does that now, and I continue to follow because I love her short and beautiful posts. Peace and happy writing!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I think the flooding as you put it is the perfect way to describe what I was trying to say. It is always great to see posts from people you enjoy reading but if there is a flood of posts you can also miss the posts of other writers. I just said posts a lot!

      Liked by 2 people

  4. That is the best post that you wrote in a while, as you hardly complained about any of your personal issues, which was refreshing. I am sure that many of your followers appreciate your honesty and the way you open up your private life for them, but I became one of your followers, because I saw your writing talent (which please forgive me for saying this) has been missing lately. Please bring back the LaLaLand girl!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No forgiveness necessary, I need a kick up the butt to get back to writing for the love of it. I have stacks of ideas just waiting to come to life and I am happy to say the fire is fueled again. I appreciate your honesty, it is needed. Thank you.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. First I’ve noticed. Honestly. It’s probably just your head undermining you for no good reason. Happens when we are fatigued.
        Nice to hear you anyway. I come from a place where no one talks to us and if we survive and achieve unusually good health and fitness… still doesn’t change 🦁
        Bless you

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Cheers. Couldn’t get back to sleep this morning so started the day early. Spring here now. Was a very cold winter. Trying to work out what my main priorities are for the next few months

        Liked by 1 person

      3. And Copernicus… and Tyco Brahe… Can’t remember how his name was spelt. Koestler wrote an account called the Sleepwalkers.
        Science and religion have had a strange marriage and divorce at times. Heresy or blasphemy are very strange offences sometimes

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Okay. Just past 10pm here. Sort of tired. Thinking about putting a movie on.
        Thanks for chatting. I really hope you are feeling better soon x

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Write when ready. I have spells where i don’t feel i’ve got anything meaningful to discourse – then there’ll be a day when i’ll fire off two poems and three pages of short-story material. Just let it come when it’s ready – we who are blessed with the muse often find it can be a frustrated curse when nothing appears. Ive learnt to just quietly appreciate it when it feels ready to use me as its conduit. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Good to see you on Twitter! About how often people post…I find it a bit much when people post multiple times per day. I don’t look at every one of those posts and, to be honest, I’m kind of put off looking at any of them because they overwhelm my feed.

    Beyond that, I reckon post as often as you genuinely have something to say. For the last little while, I’ve been posting every other day. Sometimes I post less often than that. I think it’s more important that the posts have a purpose and aren’t just there for the sake of having content.

    I’m definitely not put off by someone posting infrequently 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  7. I believe that you’re a talented writer. As someone who has a head full of ideas, I, too, used to be immensely afraid of rejection. Finally, I swallowed my fear and started sharing my three National Novel Writing Month attempts, every Wednesday, throughout 2015. It felt amazing to put it out there and self-publish them through WordPress. I didn’t get a lot of traffic in the very beginning, but some bloggers are discovering those older posts now, and liking and commenting on them. Seeing the likes and comments is such a boost! It’s worth it, trust me. Having a little fear is perfectly normal, but don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. I love reading your posts, and I think a lot of people respect your opinions, and your writing. Good luck!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. This. So much this. It took me a lot of years to finally get the courage to self-publish, thinking my work wouldn’t be accepted or somehow ‘good enough’. But you know what i find – if even just one person puts a like then i’ve done a good job. Even if they don’t, it doesn’t matter – the catharsis of being in the now and expressing that is what drives a writer. And it’s a job well when it is 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  8. I hope your are doing well now. I like your idea of doing chapter vise story posts to maintain consistency. I myself need consistency in blogging and am also pondering over how can I do it. 🙂
    Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Post when you want. Once a year, once a month, once a day…. write for yourself and we, your readers, will appreciate your transparency and realness as always. I don’t like seeing “daily” or multi-daily posts in the blogs I follow. If someone posts too much for my liking, I end up just passing them by or clicking when I want to read something by that particular author that day. But that’s me. But don’t apologize for posting “too much” or “not enough”. If you take a break, we’ll be here when you get back. Again, write for yourself and not the possible accolades of fickle Internet folk! As always, I enjoy your writings. Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey there. First and foremost I do write for myself, but I am happy to know what the people who read my blog are interested in just to give back for them giving their time to the things I write. It would be nice to try a few things that challenge me too. Thank you though, it is nice to know I am accepted for who I am. It is a relief.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sara, it’s great to hear from, and good to know you have been able to rest well. Write at your pace what you like on your bog. It is yours. I will read it. Sometimes I may not be able to read as often, whereas some days I might get to catch up on reading. But I do enjoy reading your posts.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I seem to be attracted to your posts and seem to find them easily even after being away for a while myself. I read poetry mostly but love to peak inside others minds (like watching people at the mall) and when you post about your life or self I find it interesting, wondering about all the parts I can’t see or read. You are talented and whatever direction you decide to go I believe you will be well received.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I like some of the prompted weeklies. Six on Saturday (6 things that made you happy posted on Sat). Song Lyric Sunday (post a song you feel relates to a given prompt). Some people come up with their own topics, like Motivational Mondays, where they come up with and share something. Another guy posts pictures of day lilies just about every day, and I love that these writers do that! Some writers try daily posts, but that’s tough in the long term.
    You are a great writer, so I’ll be excited to see what you come up with!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Discussion is good. Like debating or an essay, we need a few waves or sub topics to develop the idea… and understanding of each other.
        Often we actually end up on the same page.
        We live in a society where people need instant explanations and don’t want or need to be very close emotionally with others.
        It often reminds me of Orwell.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Its nice to hear from you again Sara I must say I have missed you post
    I pray you get well soon
    And please don’t over work your self, it’s was a pleasure reading your post .great idea about your blog Post .. And I love the fact that you put your followers into consideration that’s really nice of you 👍💖
    My opinion is that what’s ever comes to your mind you should write it down for me personally the biggest lie I have told my self is “you don’t need to write it down you will remember” I always end up forgetting it or sometimes the inspiration comes back but not always lucky ,am also a fan letting words flow in the right mood .I write poetry and I want to try short stories too …
    💞💝💖✌

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I do tend to write ideas down, like if I have an interesting dream I think would make a good story etc. It is definitely a good idea. Other times things just stick in my head. Especially the poems I write. I also had this dream in 2015, which was so in depth it was like watching a movie. I wrote that down and to this day I still remember the dream and how it felt. It’s pretty cool. I do want to make that into something but the world is so massive that i might end up biting off more than I can chew. I think I need to start a bit smaller and work on that in the background like I have done in the past.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Take its step by step
        The world is massive but you will stand out you will achieve all your goals I believe that I know because you are in the right starting
        I do write my dreams too and some fantastic idea but sometimes I feel too shy to publish it or maybe I feel am not good enough but am trying to pull my self out of that zone

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Thank you for being open about your feelings. I believe this is therapy for others who are feeling the same way on his/her life journey. Self promotion is necessary in our daily life because we have to be there if no one else is saying “yes”, “I stand with you,” and “go ahead”. Striving to help someone when you are not feeling well will encourage you to continue doing what you are doing

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I get it. I also struggle with things like Twitter and self-promotion. It’s a common fear, I believe, to wonder if you’re saying/posting/self-promoting too much. For me, it would be overkill to post multiple times a day, ever day, but two to three times a week is fine. You’re a talented writer, and people can relate to you. Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. You certainly have a lot going on, Sara and seem to be quite resilient, plugging on with life and things through life’s business, ill health, and goals/dreams. Life can certainly stretch us at times. Over the past 6 months, I’ve had a bug, back issues, Type A Flu and most recently a fall (onto concrete – fortunately, I bounced i.e. didn’t break anything… all whilst running a business. It has been a testing year but with each setback, it only makes one more determined to succeed. Thank you for your inspiration! Looking forward to seeing/hearing about your journey. Best wishes re the publishing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’m pretty new to this whole blogging thing, but I agree… it is very hard to keep up when people blog a lot. But when it’s a blog I enjoy, I will take the time to go back and read as many posts as I can. As for the social media side, I’m kind of jealous. My job means I have to distance myself from becoming too publicly known. But I say to you, get on Twitter and all the other social media sites you can. If writing is your passion, go for it. I have a plaque in my classroom: “The world belongs to those who follow their dreams.” So write, write, write, my friend, and the world will be yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

