Read!

I have recently got back into the habit of reading books as a hobby, so much so that I will usually now opt for a good book over a tv show. 

I have not read that many books for a long time and I am very glad I am back into the swing of things. 

Reading has really stirred my imagination and has inspired me with lots of new ideas. I have enjoyed mixing it up too and choosing different genres as well as Indy authors. 

I am thinking it would be really cool to start a Book Club section on my blog where those of us who enjoy reading can share, recommend and generally discuss what is out there, old and new. I am even thinking about getting back into book reviewing, so if you have any of your own work and would be interested in getting a review, please get in touch with me on my contact page. 

I am so excited to see what is out there, I love discovering what immerges from other people’s minds, learning different writing styles and getting that feeling of suspense that tv shows and movies are sorely lacking these days. 

I never stopped reading. I am constantly reading articles, blog posts and what not online, but there is nothing like merging your imagination with a writer’s and discovering a different world through their words. 

This is what I want to do and I have so many ideas, I just do not know where to start! Rest assured though, it is going to happen and I am more determined than ever to get some ideas finished. 

If you have any recommendations now, please feel free to share them with me and the lovely people that read my blog. I think this could be the start of something great. 

Until next time, read and get inspired!

-Sara 

(Image found on Pinterest) 

94 thoughts on “Read!

Add yours

      1. The Risen Empire – Scott Westerfeld
        Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
        Dune – Frank Herbert
        Starfish – Peter Watts
        Pandora’s Star – Peter F Hamilton
        Pushing Ice – Alastair Reynolds
        Breakers – Edward Robertson
        Ticker – Lisa Mantchev (steampunk)
        The Mermaid’s Sister – Carrie Ann Noble (fantasy)
        One of those has got to nab your attention… happy reading!
        (PS: my personal very favoritest author is Peter F Hamilton)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am just waiting for my artist to finish up the last picture for my new book. It is a really long book and so far only one person has ever read it. That was my last girlfriend, however it did not work out well as when she finished it she said that she had to break up with me. I asked her why and she said that she wanted to devote the rest of her life to God. My book is kind of spiritual but I never thought it would affect anybody that way. I can’t ask you to read my book, because it is so long, but I made a Power Point trailer that would take a few minutes of your time if you had any interest in watching that.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Cynical and pessimistic is exactly what I am looking for. I need real analysis from someone like you, who know what good literature is, so please don’t sugar coat your criticism, give it to me the way you see it and don’t hold anything back, as I can take it.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey don’t leave me out lol. πŸ™‚ Great idea, tough share format. I considered a amateur writers forum , but have already deleted two others . I’m a bad moderator lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t expect it to be a massive take off. I think the comment section should be sufficient. If I make it a regular thing I can pick out recommendations and put them in a post so nobody misses out.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny you wrote about this, or that I happen to be in the same line of thought recently. I guess I’ve indulged enough in movies and shows recently, that I’ve become bored and want to “merge my imagination with an authors” as you so-well put it. I missed that feeling of escaping into a world that someone else created.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I like trying to guess what characters would look and be like in movies. The only thing about reading the book first is knowing that so much of it will be cut from the film and you end up being that person who is like “Well, in the book this happens…”

        Like

  3. I’d totally recommend ‘The Warhound and the Worlds pain’ by Michael Moorcock. It’s a really good fantasy story that’s compelling to read about Captain Von Beks journey to find the holy Grail. I can’t really say anymore than that because I’ll spoil the story. But I’d recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy mixed with history. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A book club sounds great. I am a book addict to and read from many different genres, I have read over 25 books just this year lol it’s fab that you are getting into reading again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s amazing. I’m on about book 10/11 at the moment, although I only got back into reading a couple of months ago. I’m currently reading two at once. I’m not sure whether that’s a good idea or not though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the idea of a book club, I’d also love to find a way to discover new books I may like. I did a search for that but didn’t find anything that seemed to work well. I’m reading books here and there on my Kindle and I love it! But I’d love to find books by topic or genera. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Youtube is another huge obstacle to reading. Many fun things on YouTube though, from documentaries to debates, interviews and movies. Recently saw the Oxford Union debate: Is Kanye West more relevant than Shakespeare?

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I love books! Unfortunately, as an English Literature/Composition instructor and a writing coach, my “reading brain” is usually pretty burned out by the time I get home. I always aspire to read and writing more though. I always carry a book and journal in my backpack, everywhere I go. I’m always happy to meet my fellow bibliophiles.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reading a book is a beautiful thing! In fact, “books” are somewhat coming back from the recent years of when they have been cast aside in favor of e-readers. Bookstores are not dead!! I just started a new one The Law Of Love by Laura Esquivel. Keep reading and keep being wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Upon reading of many books on your behalf, it is a really good start to write and develop a habit of writing. I am a writer and a poet, actually I am established. From my insight in literature, it is a very good idea too if you start with a book club or review works to penetrate the market in the future. Hope you do it well. God bless!

    Cenzi

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am a book nerd forever! books are life πŸ™‚ I am hoping one day to publish my own works of fiction but I still have a lot of developing to do! Writing and reading are the only ways to improve though!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sharing reviews about books by forming a reader’s club seems to be a very good idea Sara.. One can get an idea of different types of books according to their own tastes and preferences. . good going. waiting for the club to commence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

