Sleep evades 

Hello again, 

I work a couple of night shifts a week and I struggle with staying asleep once I return home. Just like today, I’ve only managed about three hours, if that and I have to do it all again tonight, lucky me! The sleep deprivation has inspired this poem, so I guess that is something good. Well, I’ll let you decide. 

Until next time, please keep the noise to a minimum. 

– Sara 
Please just shut up, I’m trying to sleep

But it is just too loud now, so I silently weep

Waiting for hours for a deep sleep to creep

But reaching that slumber, it just seems too steep 

And I can’t for the noises they storm through my brain 

Like a train on the tracks and it drives me insane 

And the tears go away and my eyes fill with pain 

Another night of this, I can’t do it again 

I also contend with the fact that it’s light 

This would be simple if it was simply night 

But sleep it eludes me, it’s out of my sight 

Now I’m laying here and the noises I just cannot fight

My tiredness seems to have my writing in rhyme

This poem is so bad that it’s surely a crime

I do need more sleep, oh look at the time 

I’ll try once again, back to bed do I climb 

66 thoughts on “Sleep evades 

Add yours

  1. I have a lot of issues falling asleep and staying asleep too. My mind keeps going. I’ve been taking a herbal supplement to keep me relaxed enough to eventually knock out. Hope you are able to get a good nights rest next time! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The only way I can get to sleep and stay to sleep after a night shift is to eat until I’m so full I need the rest. Eating of the food isn’t terrible, but I don’t imagine it’ll be good for my waistline in the near future!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yes this is true. Someone told me another way is to exhaust yourself by exercising, even if it’s a short routine. I can be lazy about it lol but I’ve tried that too. Maybe throw that into the mix if you can, it may help and no worries about your waistline. ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear of your insomnia, but the delirium has inspired a nice piece of prose. I get it too – was up at 4 am and riding my motorcycle by 5 am the other day. Then I had to have a nap like a baby mid afternoon 🙂 . Hope yours settles soon. A little honey before bedtime may help!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Usually a hot bath/shower and a nice cup of warm milk and a radio just barely audible, so you have to focus to listen, will draw you into sleep. The first two will make you toasty warm, the latter will prevent you from following too much of a train of thought and just ebb away into sleep. For me neither works really, to be fair, if I am awake and not able to sleep… I might just as well stay up. And if I can go to sleep I oft fall asleep within minutes, if not seconds according to some of my exes. But I have heard those remedies working for others, so they may benefit you.

    That said, I do like the poem, I can see where you are coming from and I hope you will find some rest.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Where I live in Alaska the sun currently sets about midnight and rises about 4:30am. It doesn’t really get “dark” this time of year, so I get what you’re saying about it being light and trying to sleep. Fortunately I sleep fine in light or dark, but I know a lot of people struggle with it. I generally go to bed about 4-5am and wake up around noon or so. Works for me. But it IS always light and I can hear other people getting ready for their day. If sleep alludes… I listen to either nature sounds (ocean or rain) or hang drum meditation music. Puts me out fast!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I spent last summer in Sweden and the sun pretty much doesn’t go down at all. I don’t think I slept properly for a month! I suppose if you’ve grown up with it then it is the norm, but it is something I’ll have to get used to.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I love the poem! this used to happen to me when I did late gigs.. I’d get home hyped up for ages. A couple of things that helped me were 1. having a bath 2. meditation 3. switching off from gadgets and reading a book. Also saying this (something I made up that seems to work for some bizarre reason)… “sleep I need needing me and so it is for the eternity of my dream”.. I don’t exactly know what it means but I once asked for a sleep mantra to come to me and that’s what I got. Hope that helps 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

      1. I wouldn’t go down the pill route. They do more harm than good ultimately. I sympathise with the shift work. I have the same issue, hate night shifts!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Sara, Thanks for Liking My First ‘English Poem’.I’m from Bangladesh&I write poetry in Bengali.This was my first poem that I translated into English.I thought nobody would read the poem!But you read and liked it, thank you sincerely!I read your poetry.Pretty good!May God help you.
    You write more beautiful poems.
    Good luck
    -Sajal Ahmed

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have always been a night person. I worked the night shift for many years because it was perfect for me, but the majority of the world is on the day shift, so it’s hard to fit in. If I have an appointment it’s not easy to get up. I really feel more comfortable at night. If I could become a day person I am sure I would be healthier and feel better, but old ways are hard to break when you have been doing them for so long.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Two thoughts, one, not being able to sleep is just awful, yes the voice of experience here. Last night was my first good night’s sleep for a couple of weeks. And, like you, I do love my sleep. I enjoy power naps too, when I can.

    Second thought, the poem is charming, because it is part of the process of not sleeping and a tired mind spilling out random thoughts onto the blankness. No, it’s not neat, but why should it be? Not sleeping is very distant from neatness, it is ragged and confused and yes, sad too. I loved it for what it was, a token of a non sleeper, reaching out.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. As as a writer, we all need a reader’s perspective, yet seldom gain it, where our own work is concerned. It’s like a roundabout, it goes around in a circle, with a writer placing work before the reader and that reader picking up on things which so often went unnoticed by the author.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

