Can we change? 

Self destruction mode activating…

No, please!

Self destruction mode activating in 3, 2…

No, please. Come on, I’ve worked so hard…

Must stay consistent…

But everything is different now, things have changed!

Misery is consistent, must activate misery…

I don’t want to be that way again. Please there must be another way…

Programmed to self destruct when happiness ensues… 

I don’t want to mess things up this time. I could do it, I could be happy. Please!

Happiness is beyond our capabilities, we must self destruct… 

Things can change…

Things never change…

It doesn’t mean that they never will. Please… No… Wait… Stop!

Self destruction mode ACTIVATED

55 thoughts on “Can we change? 

Add yours

  1. Hi, I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award.  You can check out my nomination here
    I do enjoy the way you skirt the dark 🙂 and I do look forward to your posts

    Regards ME

    Liked by 2 people

      1. well you could say I have confidence in your talent and perseverance to always keep writing 🙂 that’s what writers/poets do … we write 🙂 to purge whatever we have to … may the purging never end 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. It is. I let it get on top of me a couple of weeks ago and almost let it destroy the best thing I’ve ever had. luckily I am with someone who is patient and understand. They encourage growth instead of letting me feed off of negative energy.

        Like

  2. I love the way you created this text. It’s was awesome. I could even hear the voice of the machine. Like a human machine inside our body.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I absolutely loved this, reminds me of the robots in Dr Who, destroy, delete, exterminate – the beauty of being human however is we can find alternative ways to deactivate the self-destruct mode switch, even if we think we can’t. TJD

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This storypoem definitely resonates. The way in which we subconsciously try to sabotage our own happiness (either because we don’t deserve it, because we don’t believe it will last, or simply to complete the self-fulfilling prophecy) is a vicious and difficult cycle to break. For some, giving ourselves permission to be happy is harder than anything else in the world.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Focus, Faith & Courage.

    This struck a chord in me, and in light of Chris Cornell’s suicide (?) which has now apparently being blamed on an overdose of Ativan (I take Ativan) I do not sleep easily, and if I do–I now wonder about waking UP. Consequently–every day is like being given a second chance. Every day is a blessing. I will tell you what a close friend told me–Live!

    Faith, Focus & Courage.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. There is no coming to consciousness without pain. People will do anything, no matter how absurd, in order to avoid facing their own Soul. One does not become enlightened by imagining figures of light, but by making the darkness conscious. ― C.G. Jung

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Should a Me happen to manifest, it runs free as there is no one home capable of reining it in anyway. Eventually it dies of its own accord leaving One blissfully obliterated.

    best regards —CC

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Old LWBUT proverb… “You’ll never go hungry feeding off negative energy!” 😉

    It really is inexhaustible! – Now the good news… Nature is all about balance! For every erg of negative energy there exists somewhere in the Universe the exact same amount of positive energy! Fancy that!?

    You are truly free to make your own choices as to which you feed upon or from.

    Many times i understand that it does not actually seem that you are all that free to choose but just remember: For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction (a basic law of the physical universe). There is always a positive to counter the negative (Warning! it also works the other way too!). I suggest you get into the habit of thinking and believing this on a daily basis.

    One other thought – fighting a negative thought or feeling usually increases it’s energy – it feeds off your doubts and insecurities making it harder to generate enough positive feeling to overcome it. Don’t consciously fight the negative – ignore it as much as possible, or laugh at it, make it seem absurd. This will reduce it’s power over you and at the same time try to do things that give pleasure and peace of mind, like a walk in the park, listen to your favourite (positive) music or look at nature blogs or ones with cute furry animals 😉

    We were not meant to be in a permanent state of happiness, just as we were not meant to be in a permanent state of despair. We should all accept and learn from both cases, as well as all the ones in between.

    Or at least that’s my philosophy 🙂

    love

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Happy to be of help. Balance in the universe is a thing i have been studying lately 😉

        We should always try to live a balanced life as this will keep us in harmony with nature. 🙂
        We should be careful of spirals that can keep dragging us down but then also need to be aware of thermals that lift us higher than we really should be – find the happy medium!

        love.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

