Voices

My voice is a weapon
It can be cold and harsh, hurtful and unkind
My voice is an instrument
It can be soft and warm, loving and can fill you with comfort
My voice is a puppeteer
it can build up your expectations, it can wash away your dreams
My voice is a cure
It can keep you alive with three little words
My voice is a tool for destruction
It can destroy you with two little words

Your voice is a weapon
It can be cold and harsh, hurtful and unkind.
Your voice is an instrument
It can be soft and warm, loving and can fill me with comfort
Your voice is a puppeteer
It can build up my expectations, it can wash away my dreams.
Your voice is a cure
It can keep me alive with three little words
Your voice is a tool for destruction
It can destroy me with two little words

If you say you love me, don’t say it’s over.

Sarainlalaland 06/05/2017 ©

Featured Image.

63 thoughts on “Voices

Add yours

  1. Very moving & thought provoking I personally hope that the voice of my poems or in broader sense the voice of my existence is cure for someone rather than a source for their destruction. There is already so much of negativity in this world that’s why I hope to raise my voice for goodness something that brings a smile on crying person’s face, a voice that instills hope in a depressed heart…. Nonetheless a great piece of writing thanks for sharing your creative gift 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Understandably the three words have to be “I love you”, however I was thinking of two harsher words than “it’s over”, but they are along the same lines. I like the way you play with words.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sara, as always your posts never fail to hit home or inspire in some way. Sometimes both! The illustration of duality in persona coupled with the point blank announcement that it’s a trait for both parties is again an amazing unveiling of the obvious but often avoided truth.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps being happy is helping you to write about such things in a more detailed and honest manner? I don’t think your writing style is dark or brooding more like, open and direct. I think it’s more of a third persons level headed view. Sort of an empathetic outsider looking in point of view.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

