Inspiration can come to you at the oddest of times. From a gentle breeze on a warm summer’s day, from the words spoken to us by a loved one or they can come from the lyrics that touch your heart whilst you listen to your favourite song. Often in difficult situations, many of us struggle to find the inspiration we need to keep going, leaving us feeling vulnerable, feeling alone. Leaving us feeling helpless, wanting to give up.

I myself have been through many tumultuous hardships. I recall a time when I literally had no place to call home. It was winter. I felt neglected. Forsaken by those I thought loved me. I had no money. No roof over my head. I thought I would freeze to death. I considered it would be easier to end it all, nobody would even miss me. These thoughts spiraled through my mind and I was at a complete loss of what I could to do to improve the shambles I was in. I decided to stay strong. I became determined not to give up. I wanted to stay alive. I knew I could get through it. I spent five weeks in an accommodation for homeless youths. It was a frightening time. I feared sleep. I did not belong there. I then did something I thought impossible; I asked to go home.

After I returned home I got a job and got my life back on track. I’m grateful I didn’t give up. My experience of being homeless made me realise to this day that I can survive anything.

You may say ‘it’s too late for me’. Have you ever felt this way? Have you ever thought you’re so far down the rabbit hole that there is no way out? It is never too late! Whatever dire straits you find yourself in, there is always something you can do to improve your situation. There is always time to make a change for the better.

You might feel lost, like you have nowhere to go and nobody to turn to. However, there is help out there. People care and they want to see you happy in life. You deserve to be happy, don’t you? If you feel like you can’t reach out to your family or friends, there is support available online. The Internet is a fantastic way to find like minded individuals who offer help and support. You might also find that your experiences and triumphs can help others who feel lost.

You could argue it’s easier to give up. On the contrary, there is always a way! Some of us will find ourselves searching far and wide for something that is missing. We search into the unknown for that spark of inspiration to guide us towards the path of happiness. We search for the voice that beckons us not to give up. We forget that sometimes that voice is closer than we thought. That voice is inside of us. That inspiration was concealed within us the whole time. Remember a time when you felt completely exhilarated? From that one wondrous memory, it is possible to salvage the drive you need to summon a change for the better. Hold on to those happy memories and know you will make more.

Maya Angelou once said “You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated”. So much could be said for this one sentence. It holds so much power and meaning. To me it means never give up. Things will bring you down, but you can always find the strength within you to get back up.

Until next time, never give up!

-Sara

