Shadow

I haven’t posted a poem in a while, so I thought I would share this one with you. It’s a work in progress, but this is what I have so far.

 

Until next time, Happy weekend!

 

-Sara
Shadow you were always there, a terror in my mind
You were quite cruel, a bully boy, to her you were unkind
For a shadow you were loud and brass, you made your presence known
The day you died, I was by your side, you didn’t even groan
You were so broken from the beating you took, you couldn’t even walk
We took you to have the pain removed, none of us could talk 
You lay there fighting ’til your final breath, you didn’t want to go
I felt your life leave you through your head, you were cold, your death did show
I know we weren’t the best of friends, but you didn’t deserve this end
I buried you and said goodbye, farewell my little friend
Featured image edited from
25 thoughts on “Shadow

Add yours

    1. It’s actually very literal. It’s about the day I took my ex partner’s dog to be put down because he got attacked by a wild animal. We weren’t the best of friends because he was a bit aggressive, but seeing him in such a vulnerable state was very sad.

      Like

  1. I liked it a lot as it reminded me of when I had to put my dog to sleep. I know you said that it is a work in progress, so please don’t take this as a criticism, but you wrote “I felt you life leave you” – it should be “I felt YOUR life leave you”. When my dog died, I made a PowerPoint Presentation to honor her and as soon as I figure out enough WordPress features I will post that on my HomePage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I make mistakes all the time and that is why pencils have erasers. It is always good to have a second pair of eyes on what you write, as every writer gets in a zone and this makes them lose focus of the whole picture. I just started on WordPress yesterday, so it will take me a while to figure it all out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

