Drama Drama Drama

Last year was categorically the WORST  year of my life. Okay, that was a little bit dramatic. That’s all last year was for me, one huge drama fest. It was enough to give any reality TV show a run for its money! I got caught up in so much negativity that I became a different person. I was cynical, I didn’t trust anybody and I didn’t really feel I had a reason to be happy. The drama did not bode well with my anxiety and depression struggles, so I knew it was time to move away from it.

This isn’t me dwelling on the past, more reflecting and appreciating where I am today. Which is as far away from the drama than I have ever been. Cutting the drama out of my life has been a God send. I don’t feel the need to argue, I don’t feel negative towards others if their opinions differ from mine. I just get on with life and nothing is missing.

There is so much drama on the internet that sometimes it feels it is impossible to get away from, but you have to remember that you are your own filter. You can control what you see and if there is anything that you don’t there are plenty of methods to keep your innocent eyes from seeing such things.

Some of us, me included, can get sucked into drama. Usually when it’s not our own. We find it entertaining. I’ve followed drama of others and it’s fueled it in my own life. I’ve found now I surround myself with happiness, kindness and positivity, I am seeing way more of that and I’m slowly learning to deal with difficult situations a whole lot better if they happen to crop up.

I’m not claiming to be an expert by any means, I used to be the world’s greatest Drama Queen, but I’ve hung up my crown and opted for the quiet life.

Until next time, keep the drama on the TV!

-Sara

Featured Image

 

42 thoughts on “Drama Drama Drama

Add yours

      1. It’s a shame there isn’t one fix all for every situation, but they’re all so different. I hope that you can find a way to at least barrier the work drama from home life or of course the best case scenario, the work drama subsides.

        Like

      2. There are behavioural techniques we all can learn. We learn to associate places with certain emotions, so for instance you may dread going in to work so you have this neuro-association but there isn’t any reason why you can’t create and develop your own associations consciously. It’s called spatial anchoring.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Very well said… and happy retirement. 🙂
    2015 and 2016 were two big years for drama for me, most of which I didn’t seek… this year I’m trying to work hard to keep plenty of distance between myself and drama. And I’m succeeding — for the most part!
    Keep up the good work, Sara. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think it’s kind of a commonality that 2016 just sucked the big one for everyone.

    As for drama, I try to be a drama void, but nature abhors a vacuum and it just brings itself to me.

    Hm… last year, I texted a sick friend to check up on them and some how or another it cascaded into me losing half my friends in a particular town. Dropped out of grad school. Had a good friend stop talking to me because I think I accidentally caught her in a lie. Coworkers actively trying to sabotage me because… I dunno. I say something when their screw ups are making me have to work twice as hard.

    Yeah… it sucked.

    I hope this year gets better for you. The great thing about drama, is that it’s a learning experience — you learn what you DON’T want in your life and how to actively avoid it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very true. It’s a shame when you lose people. I lost a good friend last year too, we had a little misunderstanding and now I can’t reach them. It’s a shame, but I’ve done what I can and that’s all you can do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well said! Sometimes it seems people forget there is the option to switch off, step away, and unwind. I make a point of getting away from the internet completely a couple of times per year. Really helps to put things in perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed this and can truly relate. I too was a drama queen now not so much, but this is my own opinion ( don’t ask any of my sisters) anyway, being our own filter is truly the key, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My year was exactly the same last year. I was intoxicated for the majority of it, coming out of a break up. I can’t remember a single second of last year it’s been repressed so deeply. But this year is shaping up to be a good one. I’m glad yours isn’t so dramatic this year #fuckDrama

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

