For those of us on the pursuit to happiness, we have to come to the realisation that we have to move on from certain things in our past. If we let them linger, then those things can hold us back and if they can and we let them, they will. Whether that be an ex partner, an old friend, or a bad habit, something that has been around for a long enough period of time that we feel a pang of guilt at the thought of cutting ties.

The thing is, as difficult as even the thought is, sometimes moving on is what needs to be done to free youΒ  from beingΒ  held back from being truly happy. If you are honest with yourself, that aspect of your life, no matter what or who it is, they are making your life less than desirable. You might be so used to it that the thought of being without it will make you lonely, or it’ll be too different to be without it. Just remember this, always live your life for you first, after all it is your life. Of course you will have people in your life and you may come to share it with them and that’s great, but first and foremost you have to find happiness within yourself. If you can do that, you can do anything.

My past is full of dealings that made me truly miserable, so miserable in fact that I genuinely believed I was destined to be unhappy for the rest of my life. I thought it just happens to some people and I was one of them. I happened to fall victim of other people’s bad decisions and it got to a point where I just accepted that my life was out of my hands. Luckily for me that is not the case now. It took me a very long time and honestly it was only very recently that I took my own life back from those who thought they could do with it whatever they wanted and now it is truly mine.

There have been times in my life where incidents have occurred and they affected me so badly that I almost let them become who I was. In the end I decided that I didn’t have to be those things just because I had bad experiences, I could use those experiences to make me a stronger person. To do that I had to absolutely let go of the past. I did indeed think I had done so, but my subconscious would just not let go. I think now this was because I kept a lot of things to myself. I found myself opening up to someone I thought I trusted and they ended up using my pain against me. This did not help my trust issues in any possible way. I did not let that stop me trying to be more open though and eventually I found someone who I could really trust. They listened, they didn’t judge me and they gave me all the time I needed to get over things. That patience was just what I needed and moving on has become a lot easier.

Trust is a tricky thing and putting my trust in the wrong people made me a diffident person for far longer that I’d ever thought possible. My point is that just because one person lets you down, doesn’t mean everybody else will. You might be surprised in the best possible ways. You have to put yourself out there and it’s a little scary, you may well still find people who will let you down, this may lead you to want to go back into your bubble where it is safe, but make sure there is a little leeway. Don’t close yourself off from everybody, because you just might not see that person who is there to make your life better. Turning your back on all of what life has to offer will make you lonely and question your worth in this world. I’ll tell you this, whoever you are, you are worth far more than you realise and if there is anybody in your life that makes you feel otherwise, I’m sorry to say this, but they are the ones you need to move on from. It’s hard, but you can do it and it feels so freeing.

You are braver than you think. Even if you don’t know what you want from life right now, cutting out the negativity where possible will give your mind so much more space to figure it out. If you find yourself in a situation where you feel trapped and can’t just walk away, make sure you get plenty of time to yourself, even if it’s spending 30 minutes taking a relaxing bath. If you are being harmed in any way, whether it be physically or mentally, I know it’s difficult and scary even the thought of walking away, but think of who you were when you loved yourself the most. You were that person once and you can be that person again. Please don’t live your life for someone else who makes you feel like you’re nothing, because you’re something and they don’t deserve you.

Open up to those who you know love you and you can trust, this is definitely a good place to start, you never know what could happen and there is no reason in the world why it can’t be good things.

Until next time, be fearless!

-Sara

 

 

