Competitive Writing

Have you ever taken part in any form of competitive writing, from a local poetry contest to an online story competition?

It’s not something I have ever done, but an idea that I am definitely interested in. I don’t know of many because it is new territory for me.

I was contacted by Steph, the director of Gotham Writers Workshop regarding a writing competition called  Be a Hero Contest

This piqued my interest and so I went ahead and entered it. I thought I would share it with you, in case it was something that you would be interested in too.

The contest is to write a story of a hero in 50 words or fewer. The winner will get a free class with the Gotham Writers Workshop and they will send the winning story to each of the 100 members of the US Senate and the 435 members of the House of Representatives.

I love the idea of this contest and the challenge to say so much with so few words. It made me think a lot about who I see as my hero and it was easy for me to figure out who that was. Winning would be awesome of course, but the taking part in my first contest is exciting.

If you are interested in entering the contest, you can enter via the link above and also check out their site about online writing classes. I’m always keen to learn more and I know that my writing skills have a long way to go, so studying online in my spare time would be something that I would possibly want to do in the near future.

If you entered the contest, who would you write about? Who is your hero?

Are there any other writing competitions that you have taken part in recently that you would like to share? I would love to hear about them.

Until next time, Happy Tuesday!

-Sara

Featured Image.

70 thoughts on “Competitive Writing

Add yours

  1. Sounds cool! Best of luck, i entered a competition last month. A 150 word story challenge, which was pretty interesting to limit yourself that way. Waiting on the results still.
    May check out this 50 word one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sara, there are a host of sites offering competitions for writing. When it comes to prizes – they can be a bit meagre, which is why I go for the compilation competitions where your work gets published with other writers…some have a fee…but then some are free and you can always choose to have a work published but not receive a copy of the final article.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think I would be interested in it first and foremost for the experience. Also I think it is a good way to give you a push to do new things. Winning and have something published would be awesome, have you ever had that happen?

      Like

      1. I’ve had stuff published by the team at forward poetry in the uk and the team at all poetry.com in the US. The entering and administration are all quite straightforward, and it’s down to you whether or not you pay the publishing cost. I’ve had a number of works published this way, pop over to their sites and they’ll tell you which contests are open.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha entering a competition wouldn’t be my cup of tea, but wishing you the best of luck! It sounds like a good topic, though, and a fun challenge, and I hope you’ll share your entry here at some point, if you want. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck! I entered a short story competition a couple of years ago. I didn’t get anywhere but it did provide me with some much needed focus and it was good fun too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I started mostly limiting myself to contests in my local writing club. They’re only $10 and they’re only open to people who live in Northern California. They also have good prizes. I found I was wasting too much time on contests I either had no chance to win (open to the whole world) or didn’t have a prize I wanted that much anyway. I have won $100 twice and a chance to have an agent read my manuscript! (She gave me two pages of notes and told me to send it again with the changes. Best contact I’ve yet had with an agent.) Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Sara, it sounds like it’s worth a try. I’ve only entered poetry contests, and had one of my poems published in a book. But it was about 1,000 pages long, so my poem is buried in there somewhere. Anyway, as far as heroes go, I’d have to say my parents. Without them I wouldn’t have the foundation of my character. They have always been there for me, each in their own ways.

    Best of luck to you in the contest!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for reminding me about online writing competitions, Sara. I should look into participating in some.

    Yes, I recently submitted an entry for a national poetry writing competition. Hoping for the best. I procrastinated till the deadline, haha. Good thing I had some spare poems with me to submit (I used to write whenever inspired and so got a bunch of them stored. Nowadays, it’s more writing for the blog than anything.)

    Hmm… a hero. Well, a hero to me would be anyone who does a great service to someone or something. Saving a person from a burning building to planting many trees to help the environment. But I think a hero can also be personal. People in your life who do great work for your sake and who you look up to – I’d say they are heroes too. People like your parents, teachers, close friends and so on. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good luck in the contest!
    I joined an online writers group last year, as I wanted to improve my writing. The members are encouraged to write honest, helpful review of each other’s work, and some of the writers on there have a lot of experience, so they give honest reviews. They also run a lot of competitions – and I mean a lot. Some offer “member dollar” prizes, while others give cash prizes. We use member dollars to promote our work within the group, so more readers find it. We also get paid inmember dollars for reviews. he only snag is that it costs money to join – about $100 dollars a year, I think – though I can’t really remember. The members are a friendly bunch, just like bloggers.
    In caseyou’re interested in checking it out, here’s the link: http://www.fanstory.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m not aware of any local competitions, but I like to partake in online competitions. I do Rachael Ritchey’s weekly Blog Battle, and also submit to other things as and when I come across them. I like to take part in unofficial challenges, as well as competitions, whether those challenges come in the form of word or photo prompts. I checked out the Be a Hero contest but am put off by the requirement to register.

    Good luck to you, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I haven’t entered a writing competition since I was a little kid, but I’m thinking about entering some essay contests for scholarship money. I figure, even with a part-time job, it would take me months to earn what I could potentially win in scholarships by simply writing stuff. The hardest thing is: do I write what I want, or do I try to mold it into what I think a judge would like? I don’t want to come off as insincere.

    Good luck with your foray into competitive writing! Let us know how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I think any event that encourages people to write is a magnificent thing. And the fact that the prize is a writing workshop is even more impressive. I wish you a ton of good luck on the contest! Keep us posted on the results!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

