You’re no Prince Charming, I’ll rescue Myself. (A Poem) 

I wrote this poem because a lot of the time I find myself chasing fairytales and also because my head is up in the clouds, I don’t realise that my “Prince Charming” isn’t what he makes himself out to be. At the end of the day, I don’t to be rescued from anybody, I just need to be more aware and less naive. I hope you enjoy.

Until next time, stay creative.

-Sara

You’re no Prince Charming, I’ll rescue myself:

Your deceptive ways fooled me for a while and I was too blind to see.

You were never the knight, I was never the damsel, you were always the villain to me.

You pretended to save me on your white, shiny horse, turns out it was covered in paint.

You showed your true colours and now I can see that you are in no way a saint.

I do not need a Saviour, I’ll rescue myself, I do not need to be saved.

You stole my sanity, but I’m taking it back, no longer will I be enslaved.

Featured Image.

70 thoughts on “You’re no Prince Charming, I’ll rescue Myself. (A Poem) 

Add yours

  1. No offense taken! I’m a firm believer that there is always room for improvement and this poem I know could use some polishing. I would be grateful if you could get in touch with me via the contact page if you are willing to offer some advice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s strange because, on one side I see the benefit of loss, and the benefit of disappointment for example, to create a less fragile version of ourselves, but I also am like you, in many ways. I still believe in the purity of altruism.

    It sounds like, based on this poem, that you are going through the exact same trans-formative process I am, you’ve just found a much more poetic and eloquent way to express it. ^^. Thank you for writing this

    Liked by 1 person

  3. great imagery and emotion. I am a guy, so no Knight in shining armor for me, but a drab “Day” in ragged clothing perhaps. I do need an external power to lift me up, protect me, change me, dress me in His clothing to become the man I am created to be. But that is just me. Your poetry flows easily over any rocks or stones in this life. Keep pouring your mind onto paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Empowering. It is good to be able to identify the imposters. But I hope that you don’t allow these people to dash your longings. I believe that the fairytale is real and that it will be fully actualized in the next life. We as women especially seem to have this epic fairytale written on our hearts. And there truly are outstanding guys out there, even if they are rare. I had a traumatic childhood but now I am married to a man who I describe to people as my knight-in-shining-armour. Yes, women can slay dragons, but women also have a deep longing to have their value so tremendously recognized that they don’t have to be the ones to slay those nasty dragons themselves. Don’t slay your own heart because of your disappointment in some imposters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

