#28DayBlogChallenge Day 8 – Be Yourself

I think that no matter who we are and how comfortable we are with ourselves, we all have insecurities. This leads us to either slightly, or drastically changing things about ourselves in order to fit in.

I know in my younger years fitting in was imperative to me, I did stupid things like wearing certain outfits that weren’t me, to not wearing my glasses when I was supposed to, because I thought they looked uncool. I even stopped wearing my retainer due to peer mockery.

I quickly learned that I didn’t want to be the person I was portraying. I wasn’t interested in doing the things my peers wanted to do and it wasn’t worth spending my time doing activities I found uninteresting for the sake being part of the “in crowd”.

Eventually I developed my own style and I stuck to doing things I was interested in. By doing this my old friends went. This was okay, because it proved to me I was right in thinking my friendships were superficial.

These days I am pretty introverted, I don’t really like putting myself out there and I enjoy the company of a handful of true friends who I always enjoy spending time with.

I don’t know if anybody really has those friendships portrayed on television, where there is a group of people who consistently hang out on a daily basis. Although it looks appealing, I like my own time too much and I could never commit to such a dynamic.

I’m a gamer, have been as long as I can remember and I have met the nicest, most caring and awesome friends through something I truly enjoy.

I started blabbing on a bit there, sorry!

My point is: Be yourself! Β 

Let people love you for who you are, not who you think they want you to be. This way, you will have the truest people in your life.

I may not be perfect, but I like who I am and I think I’m getting to a point in my life where I can say I’m truly happy.

10368366_10154375425330220_5407130624264371080_o

19 thoughts on “#28DayBlogChallenge Day 8 – Be Yourself

Add yours

  1. Well, these were some very delightful thoughts to read. I was a massive weirdo as a child. I used to make weird treasure hunts for people I didn’t know, and leave mysterious anonymous messages in empty classrooms. Nobody at school knew it was me, but I enjoyed being the ‘anon’ person doing ‘anon’ things because they talked about it. I never had many friends, only a small handful who were just as weird as me. I guess I was lucky to have found them. I resonate with you on your struggles to fit in, I was just never confident enough to try, I just ambled on doing my thing. I think in a way that was bad for me because it has meant that I have lived in the shadows, and I do yearn for that ‘friendship group’ that you see on television, I see lots of my own ‘friends’ in those groups. But I am glad to hear you are happier that you have ever been before, it is a good feeling to come into your own and truly realise who you are as a person. This was a good read.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Having been the person that always stuck out I appreciate this post! It took a long time for me to embrace who I am, faults and all, and come to a point where I am happy with me, and have a better attitude about life, er…or try to on most days.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It’s lovely to hear that you’ve found a happy place in your skin, but sad to hear about the people who have dropped away along your journey. It does show you who is worth hold on to. All you need are one or two true, good friends. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Let people love you for who you are, not who you think they want you to be. This way, you will have the truest people in your life.”
    this is so true, and common to what I mentioned in my latest blog post, that was “Our darkside is what really makes us, is who we really are without the need of masks or personas, and it is why we should be loved, and so fourth we should never be anxious about ourselves and rather accept who we are and to be not afraid of our masks/personas falling.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

