2017 to some, has been a refreshing exit from the shit-storm that was 2016 and to others it’s same crap, different year. For me personally, I’m still on the fence on whether this new year has brought out any differences in me.

We are almost a month in and my personal life has changed quite a bit. I’ve attempted to let go of hurtful situations. Although just letting go is not enough, so I have come to discover. There’s a lot of painful memories that I can only wish would die with the ending of the year, but in reality it isn’t that easy.

This year as a promise to myself, I decided to do whatever I can to be a better me. If I can help others in any way, even if it was just put a smile on their face then that’s what I’ll do. I find complaining about any given situation isn’t going to magically resolve it, in fact that will only prolong the whole thing. Instead I’ve been trying to keep to my head on my shoulders a lot more than usual and always try to see the bigger picture.

Last year I suffered from depression for months at a time, I felt so lost that I couldn’t see a future for myself and figured if I can’t see it, then it wasn’t there. I was consumed by negativity and I let other people’s thoughts define who I was. They broke me down so much that I started to believe that what they said was who I truly am, even though I knew deep down that wasn’t me at all.

I have a long way to go before I will call myself better, but I feel like I’m taking the right steps to get me there. Last year was one that I would rather forget for many reasons, but hopefully I will be able to carry some things over that will make me a stronger person.

 

Thanks for reading – Sara

